Nevada locales get diesel tax collection authority
June 10, 2019
Truckers fueling in Nevada soon will be paying more tax at the pump. In return, the Silver State promises to make public funds available for truck parking
The state’s fuel tax rate is set at 23 cents for gas and 27 cents for diesel.
Gov. Steve Sisolak has signed into law a bill to authorize county commissions in counties with fewer than 100,000 people to add a tax of up to 5 cents per gallon on diesel purchases.
Previously SB48, the new law enables 15 of the state’s 17 counties to charge more at the pump. The other two counties – Clark and Washoe – already are allowed to collect a tax on diesel. All other counties in the state can charge a nickel tax on gas.
County commissions first must pass an ordinance with two-thirds majority to implement the extra tax. Another option would be for a majority of voters to approve a question during a general election.
Additional diesel revenue raised in rural counties would be required to be used for local road construction and maintenance. A portion of tax collections (up to 10%) would be routed to the Nevada Department of Transportation. The affected revenue would be used to construct, maintain or repair truck parking.
Paul Enos, CEO of the Nevada Trucking Association, says truck parking is a huge issue around the state.
“(Truckers) need to find a place to park and rest for 10 hours. Having more truck parking is absolutely essential,” Enos recently testified.
He highlighted parking issues along Interstate 80.
“We see trucks back up all over the I-80 corridor. We have quite a few paid truck spots, but we need more,” he said. “We also need lighting. Lighting is another issue to help provide safety for that driver who is sleeping.
“(The new law) is a great step to address it.”
Another provision included in the new law is for eligible IFTA carriers to receive a reimbursement of the county tax consumed outside of Nevada. The provision applies in counties that sell more than 10 million gallons of diesel annually.
The law goes into effect July 1.
Electronic proof of insurance
Also signed into law is a bill that is intended to simplify one of the burdens of proof commercial drivers are required to provide law enforcement upon request.
State law has required most commercial drivers to provide a hard copy of their certificate of vehicle registration. The same requirement is in place for proof of vehicle insurance.
Previously SB71, the new law permits truck drivers to show proof of registration via their smartphone. In addition, affected drivers will be authorized to provide proof of their user’s license via an electronic device.
Law enforcement will be exempt from any liability for damage to an electronic device when it’s presented as proof of registration.
The new law takes effect on Oct. 1.