Nevada lawmakers to discuss digital proof of registration

December 5, 2018

Keith Goble


An effort underway at the Nevada statehouse is intended to simplify for truckers providing proof of registration to provide law enforcement upon request.

State law now requires most commercial drivers to provide a hard copy of their certificate of vehicle registration. The same requirement is in place for proof of vehicle insurance.

One bill filed for consideration during the upcoming regular session would permit truck drivers to show proof of registration via their smart phone. In addition, affected drivers would be authorized to provide proof of their user’s license via an electronic device.

Filed by the Senate Growth and Infrastructure Committee, SB71 would relieve law enforcement from any liability for damage to an electronic device when it’s presented as proof of registration.

Diesel tax

Also of interest to professional drivers are two bills filed for consideration that would add fuel taxes in rural counties and cities around the state.

The first bill – SB48 – would authorize county commissions in counties with fewer than 100,000 people to add a tax of up to 5 cents per gallon on diesel purchases. The second bill – SB61 – would authorize the creation of a city diesel fuel tax of up to 5 cents on diesel purchases.

SB48 would enable 15 of the state’s 17 counties to charge more at the pump. The other two counties – Clark and Washoe – already are permitted to collect extra tax on diesel. All other counties in the state can charge a nickel tax on gas.

Nevada’s fuel tax rate is set at 23 cents for gas and 27 cents for diesel.

SB48 would require the additional diesel revenue raised in rural counties to be used for local road construction and maintenance. SB61 would allot the new revenue for street and highway construction, maintenance and repair.

Both bills include a provision for eligible IFTA carriers to receive a reimbursement of the county tax consumed outside of Nevada.

The bills await consideration during the session that begins on Feb. 4.

Truckers in Nevada may soon pay more fuel tax