TravelCenters of America’s 2018 Citizen Driver awards is coming up

May 3, 2018

Land Line Staff


Leadership, safety and public service are among the defining traits of TravelCenters of America’s Citizen Drivers award for truckers.

The 2018 Citizen Drivers will be recognized Tuesday, May 8, at the Iowa 80 Trucking Museum at the I-80 TA in Walcott.

Jon Osburn and the Spirit of the American Trucker will be there. Jon, who has had his CDL for 30 years, was named a Citizen Driver in 2016.

Launched in 2013, the Citizen Driver program seeks to honor hardworking, professional truckers. Honorees aren’t chosen just for exemplary safety records, however. The award places a premium on being positive examples and role models within their communities. There are now 24 TA or Petro Stopping Centers locations across the country named to honor professional truck drivers.

OOIDA’s Jon Osburn, skipper of the Spirit of the American Trucker tour truck, was a 2016 Citizen Driver honoree. The J.D. “Doc” Osburn TA in Boise, Idaho, is named in his honor.

In addition to Osburn, many of the previous winners are also OOIDA members, including these:

  • 2017 honorees Marty EllisIdella HansenEvan “Buddy” Haston and Dick Pingel.
  • 2016 honorees Bill Ater Jr.Mary “Candy” BassDenis LitalienBill and Robyn TaylorBill Underwoodand Michael Zanella.
  • 2015 honorees Rick AshRob FernaldSandy Long and Mike Sheeds.
  • 2014 honorees Henry Albert, Jimmy ArdisBob and Linda CaffeeJerry FrittsShawn Hubbard and Norman Knight.