Nominations sought for next Road Warrior winner

July 11, 2018

Land Line Staff


Pilot Flying J seeks nominations for its fifth annual Road Warrior contest. The honor is awarded to professional truck drivers in the United States who go the extra mile to ensure that products and goods are delivered safely, securely and on time to keep the country moving efficiently.

From now until July 23, the Road Warrior program is encouraging online story submissions that spotlight professional drivers’ perseverance and passion for the trucking industry.

“We are proud to celebrate and honor professional truck drivers for their tireless work and commitment to provide our country with the goods that make our ways of life possible,” Ken Parent, president of Pilot Flying J, said in a news release. “This is the fifth year of our program, and every year we are more and more inspired by the exceptional stories shared.”

The nominees will be narrowed to 12 finalists, and then the public will vote for the top three winners on social media. The grand prize is $10,000, while second place receives $5,000, and third place earns $2,500. Each of the remaining finalists will receive $1,000. Additionally, the people who nominated the top three winners will receive $500 each.

To nominate a driver, go to the Road Warrior website and then submit a story and photo of the driver. Anyone can nominate a Road Warrior, including the drivers themselves. Voting will take place from Aug. 8 through Aug. 15.

The grand prize winner will be announced on the Pilot Flying J Facebook page on Sept. 1.

Previous Road Warrior winners include OOIDA members Michael Sheeds, Jacqueline Rocha, and Erik Michaels.